Kindred Cookbook: Potato Chip Cookies (they’re a thing)

 

First, I brought you “salad” with whipped cream and marshmallows. Now, I share the satisfyingly sweet and salty potato chip cookie. No, my depravity knows no bounds.

I’ve been making some fairly decent life decisions as of late, both in regard to my health and you know, life trajectory. So, I decided I needed to make some bad or at least questionable choices. As I flipped through my recipes filed under “BEWARE – UNTESTED,” my first thought was “How can I undo everyone’s bikini body goals and send their blood sugar level soaring to levels doctors have not yet calculated?” Grandma, bless her,  had the answer. Written in demure print, right underneath the recipe for Cash Money Cookies, was this little number.

Potato Chip Cookies

Yes. You read that correctly. Buckle your seat belt.

Ingredients:

1 cup shortening

1 cup white sugar

1 cup brown sugar

2 eggs

2 cups flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon vanilla

2 cups crushed potato chips – think more along the lines of Lays vs Doritos. If you’d be interested in more crunch, you could try kettle cooked.

8 oz. of butterscotch chips

1 cup chopped nuts (optional)

Directions:

Stop hyperventilating.

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Cream the shortening and sugars together using a blender. Add the two eggs and mix well. Then slowly add the flour, baking soda, vanilla, blending well. Go against all of your cooking instincts and mix in the crushed potato chips and the butterscotch chips. A word to the wise – avoid a giant crumby mess and measure the potato chips into a Ziploc bag and then smash. Slightly less chaotic.

Shape and place cookies on a greased cookie sheet. Bake for seven to eight minutes or until golden brown and smelling like your wildest culinary dreams. Makes roughly two dozen cookies, depending on how much dough you consume in the baking process.

You will have an increasing level of skepticism as you’re mixing these ingredients together, but my goodness, when these little clusters of butterscotch sweetness hit that oven… It’s heaven. My kitchen, nay, my apartment was only what I imagine The Three Broomsticks smelled like in Harry Potter’s wonderful fictional world. Yes, I’m implying this recipe is *magical.* 

How this recipe came to be in the family collection is something of a wonder. Shortly after graduating from college, my mom used her writing prowess and passion for delectable dinners to pen a weekly column for the Indianola Record Herald and Tribune. In 1982, she visited the humble kitchens of women in southern Iowa, recording some of their best recipes and kitchen hacks. Besides sharing some county fair-winning recipes, my mom recorded bits of the culinary history of rural Iowa. I would put her akin to Anthony Bourdain’s Parts Unknown, but with more gravel roads and less (as in no) international travel. Also unlike Anthony Bourdain’s Emmy Award-winning series, the ingredients are readily available and are perhaps slightly more appealing. I’m certain that potato chips and cookies combined would do well on the international baking circuit.

One thought on “Kindred Cookbook: Potato Chip Cookies (they’re a thing)

  1. A favorite recipe from my culinary travels through Warren County, Iowa. This recipe originated from a cook by the name of Mary Tutt. I still have the original recipe card with Mrs.Tutt’s neatly penned directions and see her seated at her kitchen table with the plate of cookies proudly displayed. You were an “in” cook if you were featured in my column!

Leave a Reply

