It’s the doggone truth

My other black lab, Mocha and I during my senior pictures.
My other black lab, Mocha and I during my senior pictures.

When I am home, I have a wake-up call service. No, it’s not my mother nor is it an alarm clock with an annoying electronic buzzer. Mine is of a fuzzier state.

Rosie, my seven-year-old black lab, comes into my room around 6:30 a.m. every morning, bright-eyed and bushy-tailed. Wet nose nudges and an occasional paw to the face greets me each morning.

During the weekdays, I find this habit adorable. But to be woken up at 6:30 a.m. on a Saturday? Inhumane. Isn’t there a saying about this sort of situation? “Don’t wake a sleeping teenager?” Or perhaps it’s “don’t wake a sleeping dog.” Either way, when the sun rises Rosie will prod open my bedroom door and happily push her face in my mine.

Dogs are easily one of the most popular pets on the planet.

According to the Humane Society of the United States, here are 83.3 million dogs which have a place to call home. And for most dog owners, Fido isn’t simply a fluffy friend, but a member of the family and therefore needs to be spoiled appropriately.

Americans spend an estimated 50 million dollars on their animal family (cats, dogs, birds, horses, lizards, all included).

Rosie is the only fan of my ukulele playing.
Rosie is the only fan of my ukulele playing.

I sometime wonder if I could trade spots with those dogs.

My dad gave me an excellent piece of conversational advice when I first went to college.

“Ask people about their dog,” he said. “Everyone always has a dog story.”

To this day, that advice has held true. People love their pets in general.In return, they provide us with an unconditional love and unquestioning loyalty.

If you question this, lock your dog and your significant other in a trunk together and guess which is happier to see you when you let them out.

Leave a Reply

